Video History

Fullfilling Our Mission: St Timothy's 1979–2003

Don't see any controls? Get Adobe Flash Player!

Our History

On epiphany in 1978, after much thought, prayer, discussion and planning on the part of the Diocese and Vestry and clergy of St. Paul's Greenville, a small group of parishioners began to worship as St. Timothy's Church. The name was chosen, largely, because Paul and Timothy were companions and friends.

From the beginning, worship has been of paramount importance in all deliberations. After three years of Sunday worship at another local church, and with much financial support from St. Paul's, the National Church, the Diocese, as well as the profits from the first two Lobster Fairs, St. Timothy's was ready to build a home of its own.

In May 1981, with much anxiety, the circa 1900 deconsecrated St. James Episcopal Church was divided into three parts for its successful ten mile journal from Ayden to its present site. The first service in the rebuilt edifice was held on September 13, 1981. An 1852 pipe organ, purchased through donations, was installed in 1982.

After a few years of Sunday school and parish events being held in the current office building, it became apparent that additional classrooms were needed, and on Palm Sunday 1985, the Education building was occupied. This additional made it possible for St. Timothy's to begin a weekday preschool program.

Another step forward occurred in November 1994 when the Parish Hall was completed. With its functional open structure, it can be configured for classrooms or opened for corporate worship. A spacious, efficient kitchen has made possible fellowship events that can include the entire congregation.

Our Church was completed in the summer of 2003. All congregants are seated in a semi-circle surrounding the chancel area, with the hanging cross and altar table being the primary focal points of worship. The altar table, communion rail and chancel furnishings were custom designed and hand made, with features that symbolize our liturgical processes. The pews, flooring, walls and ceilings are all solid surfaces that were selected to provide a rich acoustical environment. Tapestries, commissioned and woven by a local artist Catherine Billingsley, and a large stained glass window behind the Altar with complimenting stained glass panels in the side windows, were installed in 2013 to add color and warmth. Visitors and parishioners are pleased that the new church provides a welcoming space for everyone to worship together.

This sketchy history has spoken mostly of our development in terms of “bricks and mortar”, and has not described the special flavor of St. Timothy's — the children and youth, the love and fellowship, the worship and outreach — that has made this community unique. Through the years the Lord has blessed us in many ways, but especially He has anticipated our needs by providing persons with unique gifts at critical periods in the parish's life.

Thanks be to God!